lcs new board members

Incoming Lincoln County Board of Education member Tony Jenkins is sworn in by County Clerk of Court Fred Hatley at the regular meeting of the Board of Education on Dec. 13.

LINCOLNTON – Newly elected school board members Tony Jenkins, Joan Avery and Todd Wulfhorst were sworn in at the Lincoln County Board of Education regular meeting held Thursday, Dec. 13.

Jenkins filled the seat vacated by Candy Burgin who decided not to seek re-election. Both Avery and Wulfhorst were re-elected to their seats in November.

Burgin was recognized by Lincoln County Schools Superintendent Dr. Lory Morrow for her contributions to the board over the last eight years. Cathy Davis was nominated and elected as chairperson of the board. Wulfhorst and Heather Rhyne were both nominated as vice-chairperson with Rhyne receiving the most votes.

After a closed-session meeting, the board voted to waive the snow days from Dec. 10 and 11 because the 2018-19 school calendar has sufficient credit hours to do so. If any more snow days are necessary throughout the calendar year, the following Saturdays – March 2, 16 and April 9 from 8 a.m. to noon – have been designated as make-up days.

Winners of the fifth annual Christmas Card contest were announced and recognized at the meeting. The cards designed by the two winners, Kayla Dietz from West Lincoln High School and Elizabeth Johnson from Union Elementary School, will be used as the Christmas cards for the district.

Carly Correll, a North Lincoln Middle School student received an Innovator Award at the meeting for her service to various organizations across Lincoln County such as the Stand Firm Warrior Foundation and Hesed House of Hope. The Innovator Awards are a new type of recognition from Lincoln County Schools and will be given out every nine weeks, one per high school feeder zone. These awards are intended to recognize staff, students or community members who have shown the ability to think through situations, find creative ways to solve problems, were tenacious in seeing a task through, connected with students or community like never before or integrated subjects that made students excited about the content. Correll is the only student to win an Innovator Award for this first round of recognitions.

The following students received the Superintendent’s Art Award – Eirysh Pettis from Battleground Elementary School, Isabelle Ingalls from Rock Springs Elementary School, Sarah Smith from East Lincoln Middle School and Aoife Nordmark from Lincolnton High School. The students’ work will be on display at the district’s Central Services Complex at 201 Jeb Seagle Drive in Lincolnton.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.