Mallory Elks, right, a teacher at Pumpkin Center Primary School, received the INNOVATOR award for designing and implementing a flexible seating set-up in her classroom, presented by Associate Superintendent Aaron Allen. 

Members of the Lincoln County Board of Education were able to take their seats behind the new dais, which was constructed by students of the Lincoln County School of Technology Carpentry Program. At the meeting held on Tuesday, April 8, the students were recognized for this work and other construction work, which they did for the Lincoln County Schools ITS Department.

In addition, Chris Rhyne named the 2019 recipients of the Lincoln County Public Education Foundation Grant.

“Our grant process was revised this year to make it easier for teachers to apply,” Rhyne said. “We made it a shark tank-type format. We received 39 grant applications from 21 different schools this year.”

Four winners, each receiving $8,000, were selected from the Shark Tank, which was held on March 28. Iron Station Elementary, led by teacher Jessica Lineberger, won for their proposal entitled, “Bring the Magic of Maker Space to ISES.” The second award was given to Amy Fonseca and Emily Kerley, both teachers at Pumpkin Center Primary, for their project, “Building Digital Literacy Through Innovative Learning with iPads.” The third winner was Rock Springs Elementary, led by teachers Jesse Beam and Rebekah Stanton for their “Rock Springs Innovation Lab” project. The final grant was awarded to three teachers who serve 11 different schools within the district, Krystle Bess, Angela Herd and Rexana Rhoney, for their project, “Lincoln Logs – Building Confidence and Academic Achievement from the Ground UP.”

In other business, Pumpkin Center Intermediate School was recognized for being the 2018-2019 winner of Battle of the Books.

The third-nine weeks INNOVATOR awards were given to John Dancoff, a community member who was recognized for his work in the central zone. Mallory Elks, a teacher at Pumpkin Center Primary School, received the award for designing and implementing a flexible seating set-up in her classroom. A student at Union Elementary School, Cash Allen, was recognized for helping other students at Union Elementary as well as the community. Allen leads the HESED House of Hope Committee at the school. He also assists younger students during breakfast in the cafeteria and during dismissal.

Sidney Dollar, an East Lincoln High School student, was recognized for being named to the North Carolina Basketball Coaches Association’s men’s basketball all-state team. Only 15 young men are selected for this honor across the state.

Two members of the East Lincoln High School soccer team, Chase and Logan Gilley, both juniors, were recognized for being named to the North Carolina Coaches Association’s all-state 2A men’s soccer team. Only 27 students across the state are selected for this honor.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.