Jake Soorus

North Lincoln's Jake Soorus was named to the South Fork 2A All-Conference team in baseball and track and field. Soorus helped lead the Knights to state championships in both sports in 2019. 

The South Fork 2A named its all-conference teams for the spring season. Here are the athletes from area schools honored by the league.


Outstanding Offense: Garrett Michel, East Lincoln

North Lincoln

Joey Cobb

Seth Whitley

Jake Soorus

Jake Quilla

Matt Heavner

East Lincoln

Garrett Michel

Gabe Duncan


Coach of the Year: Breanna Tapp, North Lincoln

Outstanding Defense: McKayla Watts, North Lincoln

North Lincoln

McKayla Watts

Mia Duvall

Haley Patrick

Aidyn Cada

Morgan McCaslin

East Lincoln

Katelynn Crowe

Kylie Thress

Katie Hogue

Payton Baker

Women’s Soccer

North Lincoln

Dylan Ambrose

Morgan McPeak

East Lincoln

Taylor Barrineau

Cambell Vander Harr

Deanna Poteat

Devin Poteat


Player of the Year: Lance Rowe, East Lincoln

North Lincoln

Chase Lackey

East Lincoln

Lance Rowe


Coach of the Year: Rollin Mackel, East Lincoln

North Lincoln

Collin Bonner

East Lincoln

Joel Reiter

Nick Colannino

Connor Hall

Men’s Track and Field

Coach of the Year: Jerry Castro, North Lincoln

Sprinter of the Year: Jalen Ward, North Lincoln

Distance Runner of the Year: Brian Risse, North Lincoln

Field Athlete of the Year: Jake Soorus, North Lincoln

North Lincoln

Sam Brady (100 meters, 200 meters)

Jalen Ward (400 meters, long jump)

Brian Risse (800 meters, 3,200 meters)

Jason Thomson (800 meters, 1,600 meters)

Johnny Grant (1,600 meters)

Landon Beard (300-meter hurdles, discus)

Alex Schmerber (pole vault)

Jake Soorus (long jump, shot put, discus)

Thomson, Jason Risse, Grant, Khari Johnson (4x400-meter relay)

Miles Phillips, Johnson, Thomson, Jason Risse (4x800-meter relay)

East Lincoln

Quentin Smith (High Jump)

Kobe Thomas (Triple Jump)

Dalton Smith, Langdon McCall, Dwayne Singh, Kobe Thomas (4x200 Relay)

Women’s Track and Field

Distance Runner of the Year: Angie Allen, North Lincoln

Field Athlete of the Year: Olivia Correa, North Lincoln

North Lincoln

Anaia Mayner (400 meters)

Angie Allen (800 meters, 1,600 meters, 3,200 meters)

Alyssa Galvin (1,600 meters)

Olivia Correa (triple jump, long jump, 100-meter hurdles)

Allen, Mayner, Shay Rooney, Ava Parnell (4x400-meter relay)

East Lincoln

Hope Hembree (300 hurdles)

Lauryn Taylor (high jump)

Taryn Giles-Robinette (discus)

Michaela Gammon (800 meters, 3,200 meters)

Gammon, Hembree, Olivia Humphrey, Marlene Delgado (4x800-meter relay)


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.