H-Matthews hough

Hailey Matthews led Hough in scoring and assists during its undefeated regular season.

Hough is home to two I-Meck 4A athletes and coaches of the year for the spring sports season.

Junior midfielder Hailey Matthews was named Conference Player of the Year in soccer after leading the I-Meck champion Huskies with 17 goals and 18 assists in 20 matches. She was second in the conference in both categories to North Meck freshman Noelle Roberts, and follows Madison Oracion as the second consecutive Huskie to win player of year.

Hough coach David Smith was named Coach of the Year after his Huskies compiled an 18-0-2 record in the regular season before a second-round playoff loss. They had seven of the 22 players on the all-conference team.

Another Hough team that went undefeated in the regular season was rewarded with top honors.

Sophomore Ryan Mangiapane is the I-Meck Boys Tennis Player of Year. Playing No. 1 singles for the conference champion Huskies, Mangiapane only lost one match in the regular season and was unbeaten in I-Meck play.

In his first season leading the Huskies, Ro Lawin was named Coach of the Year in boys tennis. Hough won all of its conference matches by 9-0 scores. The Huskies advanced to the West Regional Finals, but lost to Myers Park to finish 15-1.

Ryan-Mangiapane hough

As a sophomore, Ryan Mangiapane played No. 1 singles for the conference champion Huskies.

Though she wasn’t named Player of the Year, North Meck’s Lindsay Cooper is all-conference in three events: 110-meter hurdles, 300-meter hurdles and as part of the 4X100-meter relay.

Here are the are the athletes from Hopewell, Hough and North Meck named to I-Meck all-conference teams:


Tanner Gresham, Hopewell

Seth Christmas, Hopewell

Tyler White, Hopewell

J.D. Brock, Hough

Charley Chason, Hough

Jake Whitman, Hough

Boys Golf

Logan Nerad, Hopewell

Ayush Bodhale, Hough

Zach Gilbert, Hough

Steven Lorentz, Hough

Sam Swanner, Hough

Dylan Smith, Hough

Girls Soccer

Player of the Year: Hailey Matthews, Hough

Jill Flanders, Hopewell

Maelee Dudan, Hough

Meghan McHugh, Hough

Camden Poole, Hough

Riley Rush, Hough

Meghan Skinner, Hough

Lea Wissell, Hough

Elista Parks, North Meck

Noelle Roberts, North Meck

Coach of the Year: David Smith


Anna Settlemeyer, Hough

Ann Michale Hudson, Hough

Rebecca Yepez, Hough

Austin Pearce, Hough

Olivia Cainey, Hopewell

Jillian Ghant, Hopewell

Aniya Daye, North Meck

Madelyn Holmes, North Meck

Boys Tennis

Player of the Year: Ryan Mangiapane, Hough

Ryan Carpino, Hopewell

Anthony Carpino, Hopewell

Sebastian Hernandez, Hough

Dylan Masters, Hough

Banks Taylor, Hough

Coach of the Year: Ro Lawsin, Hough

Boys Track & Field

Jeremiah Brown, Hopewell (110m hurdles)

Blaise Atkinson, Julio Payne, Elijah Jones and Trevin Moyer (4X200m relay), North Meck

Girls Track & Field

Lindsay Cooper (100m hurdles, 300m hurdles), North Meck

Milan Fields (100m), Hough

Lilly Walters (1,600m), Hough

Alana Mack (long jump), North Meck

Imunique Archie, Ashley Sanders, Lindsay Cooper and Alana Mack (4X100m) North Meck

Mary Brown, Reagan Clonginger, Anna Gardner and Lilly Walters (4X800m), Hough

Naomi Johnson (pole vault), Hough


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.