Natasha Marcus

Natasha Marcus has been named the freshman Democratic leader for the N.C. General Assembly.

RALEIGH – N.C. Sen. Natasha Marcus was unanimously elected by her newly seated colleagues as freshman Democratic leader for the 2019-20 General Assembly.

Marcus, who defeated Republican incumbent Jeff Tarte of Cornelius in November, is one of seven freshman Democratic senators.

“I am honored that my peers have chosen me,” Marcus said in a statement. “We appreciate that our leaders value our new energy and ideas enough to create a place on the leadership team for our fresh voices.”

Marcus was named to the Appropriations on Agriculture, Natural and Economic Resources Committee; Judiciary Committee; and Redistricting and Elections Committee.

Marcus’ District 41 includes Huntersville, Cornelius and Davidson.

In the other chamber, another newly elected Democrat, N.C. Rep. Christy Clark of Huntersville, was named to the House Agriculture Committee; Environment Committee; Homeland Security, Military and Veterans Affairs Committee; and Judiciary Committee.

Clark defeated incumbent Republican John Bradford of Cornelius in November. Her District 98 includes Cornelius, Davidson and most of Huntersville.

Democratic N.C. Rep. Kelly Alexander’s District 107 includes the southwestern quadrant of Huntersville, comprising much of the McCoy Road and Hambright Road corridors.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.