Children's Theatre.png

From left: Jordan O'Sullivan, Michael Chilcoat and Rachel Peterkin.

Mooresville Community Children’s Theatre named three graduating high school seniors as recipients of $1,000 Clayton Miller Scholarships, named for the founder of Mooresville Community Theatre.

All proceeds from concession sales at Children’s Theatre productions go toward the scholarships.

“We believe the gift of theater for our students will benefit the community beyond the performance sector,” the Children’s Theatre said in announcing the scholarships. “Our award recipients will take their dedication to theater, and apply the same dedication and passion for the rest of their lives.”

The 2019 scholarship recipients are:

• Jordan O’Sullivan, a graduate of Lake Norman High School who plans to major in Musical Theater at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia.

• Rachel Peterkin, a graduate of Mooresville High School who plans to major in Technical Theater at Western Carolina University.

• Michael Chilcoat, a graduate of Lake Norman High School who plans to major in Theatre Studies at UNC Chapel Hill.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.