Justin Poris Mooresville

Justin Poris is the I-Meck Player of the Year after going unbeaten in conference play on the mound and putting up a 1.02 earned-run average.

The local teams playing on the diamond finished in the top-two spots the I-Meck 4A standings and picked up conference Player of the Year honors in the process.

Lake Norman freshman sensation Linda Moore was named Pitcher of the Year, as the Wildcats were a game behind rival first-place Mooresville in the I-Meck standings. Moore compiled a 16-4 record, striking out 145 and walking 21 in 107 innings. She threw 15 complete games and had seven shutouts in her debut season.

She was just as impressive at the plate, however, with a .470 batting average, six doubles, two triples and a home run. Moore was perfect in 22 stolen-base attempts.

Elly Huecker Lake Norman

Lake Norman center fielder Elly Huecker hit above .500 with 10 extra-base hits in 2019.

Moore’s teammate, center fielder Elly Huecker, is I-Meck Player of the Year. The senior captain hit an eye-popping .522 with seven doubles, a triple and three home runs, and was 27-of-29 in stolen-base attempts. Playing a vital position in the field, she only committed one error in 24 chances.

Though some of the top arms in I-Meck baseball this year were left-handers, righty Justin Poris emerged as Player of the Year. The Mooresville senior ace went 9-2 and unbeaten in conference play, putting up a sparkling 1.02 earned-run average with 62 strikeouts in 41.1 innings.

After throwing a complete game in Game 1 of the 4A state championship, Poris was named series Most Valuable Player.

Mooresville distance runner Damien Gonzalez is the Male Athlete of the Year in track in field, as the junior won conference titles in the 1,600 meters and as part of the 4X800 relay team.

After winning their respective conference titles, several local coaches were Coach of the Year in his sport: Jeff Burchett (baseball) and Jay Clark (boys track & field) from Mooresville, and Tommy Strahan (softball) and Brandon Jolly (boys golf) from Lake Norman.


Player of the Year: Justin Poris, Mooresville

Vance Anderson, Lake Norman

Carson Arnold, Lake Norman

Rudd Ulrich, Lake Norman

Gage Smith, Lake Norman

Cole Robbins, Lake Norman

Cameron Arnold, Lake Norman

Carter Sheppard, Lake Norman

Blake Burchett, Mooresville

Davis Turner, Mooresville

Quin Furguson, Mooresville

Cameron Clonch, Mooresville

Coach of the Year: Jeff Burchett, Mooresville

Boys Golf

Player of the Year: Owen Swavely, Lake Norman

Luke Perrino, Lake Norman

Ryan Lux, Lake Norman

Hayden Estes, Mooresville

Coach of the Year: Brandon Jolly

Girls Soccer

Jessi Brotherton, Lake Norman

Kerri Coffman, Lake Norman

Ellie Fielding, Lake Norman

Sarah Tuttle, Lake Norman

Delaney Edge, Mooresville

Savannah Horan, Mooresville

Meredith Jenkins, Mooresville

Linda Moore Lake Norman

Linda Moore had a stellar freshman year hitting and pitching for Lake Norman.


Player of the Year: Elly Huecker, Lake Norman

Pitcher of the Year: Linda Moore, Lake Norman

Samantha Ladowski, Lake Norman

Carley Christopher, Lake Norman

Ellie Goins, Mooresville

Jentri Meadows, Mooresville

Hailey Lane, Mooresville

Coach of the Year: Tommy Strahan, Lake Norman

Boys Tennis

Jake Robinson, Lake Norman

Preston Mason, Lake Norman

Ashish Das, Mooresville

Rahul Das, Mooresville

Kobey Godbold, Mooresville

Boys Track & Field

Athlete of the Year: Damien Gonzalez (1,600m, 4X800 relay), Mooresville

Keshaun Black (100m, 200m, long jump), Mooresville

Griffin Horner (3,200m), Lake Norman

Ethan Brewer, Matt Ferarra, Gonzalez, Carter Tacosik (4X800m relay), Mooresville

Spencer Evans (pole vault), Lake Norman

Coach of the Year: Jay Clark, Mooresville

Girls Track & Field

Athlete of the Year: Maddie Huecker (3,200m), Lake Norman


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.