Mooresville 2019.png

Top row, from left: Mayor Miles Atkins and commissioners Eddie Dingler, Thurman Houston and Bobbie Compton. Bottom row: school board members Debbie Marsh, Kerry Pennell and Roger Hyatt.

Mayor Miles Atkins and the three town board members with expiring terms were the only candidates to file in Mooresville’s 2019 election as of midday Thursday.

At-large commissioner Bobby Compton, Eddie Dingler of Ward 1 and Ward 2’s Thurman Houston will join Atkins on the ballot.

Ward 1 covers the southern portion of Mooresville, while Ward 2 is in the center of town.

The three incumbents with soon-to-end terms on the Mooresville Graded Schools Board of Education – Roger Hyatt, Debbie Marsh and Kerry Pennell – also filed and were unchallenged so far.

The mayor serves a two-year term. The rest of the Mooresville office-holders serve for four years.

The general election is Nov. 5. Primaries, if necessary, will be Oct. 8.

Candidate filing ends at noon July 19.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.